Queensland State Archives posted a photo:
From the Queensland Heritage Register.
This building was constructed in two stages. The three-storeyed William Street section was erected by the colonial Queensland Government between 1876 and 1879, as the first purpose-built home for the Queensland Museum, which had been established in 1855. The four-storeyed extension was erected in 1958-59 as the Queensland Government’s major centennial project.
In 1876 the design for the first section was completed under the supervision of colonial architect FDG Stanley, and a construction contract for £10,701 was let to W Macfarlane. The building was erected as stage one of a complex which was to incorporate two flanking wings housing the main staircases, and an arcade and colonnade fronting the river.
The choice of a classical style of architecture, modelled on 16th century Italian buildings and its central location close to the city’s southern entrance, reflected the museum’s importance in the scientific and cultural

